Welcome!

Hopefully you have already read the About Me section (on the sidebar) and are familiar with the basic premise of this website. In this post, I would like to go more in-depth about myself and my project.

A little background about me: I was born in South Korea but moved to the U.S. when I was six, where I’ve been living now for over half my life. My family only recently moved back to Korea (while I was still in school), so I now consider Korea my home again but it is still an admittedly foreign place to me. I am inherently tied to the culture, the language, the people, and I will always consider myself a Korean… and yet much of it is second-nature and does not come naturally to me and I find myself observing from the outside. I believe this sort of perspective will prove useful in this project, however, as I can get both a foreigner and native point of view.

My goals for this project are as follows (although of course they remain fluid and open-ended):

Part I [Exploration]:

  • Undertake a broad exploration of Art in South Korea by visiting art museums and viewing cultural architecture around the country. My focus point is to explore the relationship between the traditional and modern. South Korea is a place richly steeped in culture, as it is a very modern hub of the world (Seoul is the world’s most wired city) and yet is deeply rooted in its traditional values. I am interested in looking at how these two facets of Korea’s identity translate into artwork and landscape– how these themes coexist, converge, and catalyze each other.
  • As I accumulate a survey of the art of Korea with this focus in mind, I will document my experiences and findings on this blog.

Part II [Immersion]:

  • Immerse myself into the every day culture of the country through interactions with the natural and manmade surroundings (parks, heritage sites, local businesses, etc.).
  • In response to this experience as well as to the artwork I see in the museums, I will make a series of personal artwork, whether that is through traditional or digital mediums, which I will also publish on this blog.

 

Thank you for reading!

Leave a Reply

